Radical Obedience

This week in the study, What Happens When Women Say Yes to God, I was challenged in a way that I have not been in a long time.    Our assignment this week was to read chapters 2 and 3 of the book.    Chapter 2 was about hearing God’s voice and Chapter 3 was about when obedience becomes radical.

radical

Well, God was so ready for this week.   Me, not so much!    I started to read Chapter two and after a few pages decided to pick up my journal to make note of some of the scripture passages so that I could look them up earlier.   After grabbing my journal, I opened it to find two seed packages.   To most people that would not be a big deal.   However, in chapter 1, Lysa used the illustration of us being a seed in our comfortable little package and how we needed to get into the dirt in order to bloom (I have paraphrased the illustration).   So, I was a little freaked out when these packages which I don’t recall buying fell out of this journal.    Okay, God you have my attention.

I finished the chapter and then decided that I was still a little unnerved by what happened that I would spend rest of the evening watching mindless TV.   I know that God was trying to get my attention, but I was so afraid of what he might ask me that I choose to ignore him for the rest of the night.

A couple days later I decided to read the 3rd chapter.   In this chapter, Lysa mentions about being empty and tired at the end of the day and watching mindless tv.  (don’t know if she called it mindless).   It was about filling ourselves up with stuff that was no good.   When we are empty we should be going to God to be filled, not the world’s latest idea of entertainment.

After reading this, I just wanted to throw the book across the room.   Twice in one week I felt like God was demanding that I listen to him.

The last two weeks have been difficult & challenging as I have been away from home taking some courses to finish my degree.   So I have had a lot more quiet time than normal.   Needless to say, this week there has not been a lot of sleep as I struggle with God and what he wants me to do.

One of the questions asked this week was, “Is there something God is asking you to give up?”    This question has been going around and around in my head.   I keep trying to figure out what God is asking and honestly do not feel like I have a clear answer.   I have spent some time over the last day trying to open myself to his leading, but honestly, it is scary.

“One thing you can be assured of is that God has already worked out all the details of what your obedience will accomplish — and it is good.  We need not fear what our obedience will cause to happen in our life.   We should only fear what our dis-obedience will cause us to miss.” (page 45)

WOW!  God is urging me towards something that is unknown, but he has prepared the way and everything is good.   I pray for obedience as I strive to follow him.

I have been reading the verses of scriptures that were in the questions for chapter 3 and have been reflecting on what God is saying to me.   They are found in book of Titus

“For the grace of God has been revealed, bringing salvation to all people.   And we are instructed to turn from godless living and sinful pleasures.  We should live in this evil world with self-control, right conduct, and devotion to God, while we look forward to that wonderful event when the glory of our great God and Saviour, Jesus Christ, will be revealed. “ (2:11-13)

I have really felt the pull to these verses and to examine every area of my life to see if there is something that is not as it should be.   I think it is safe to say that on top of the list is facebook and the amount of time that I spend on it and on the computer in general.   TV is another issue.  And I sure there are more, but awaiting God to reveal them to me.

Praying that as I continue in this study, the fear of saying Yes to God will diminish and that I will not be so hesitant to answer him when he speaks.walking in his will

Categories: #YesToGod study, Blogs | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Radical Obedience

  1. Love your honesty. I have been there and re-visit sometimes. No worries as he has already worked this out for you! Enjoy the drive!

  2. Stephanie thanks for reminding me tonight that God has already worked out the details of my obedience when I walk in His will. I just need to hang on and believe and trust God with the details. Praying for you in this study. When God calls you will answer.
    Love
    Marilyn

  3. Erin OBS Group Leader

    Thanks for sharing your journey though this last week. Stay strong and keep on following Him!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

