#YesToGod

This week in my online Bible Study, What Happens when Women Say Yes to God, we were challenged to read chapters 5 and 6. I say challenged, as I had very little time to devote to reading and reflecting. But was determined to #stickwithit!

I was also challenged to start every day with a prayer to say Yes to God. No matter what he asks me to do, no matter what task lies before me. I will be obedient and say Yes to God.

As I reflect on this challenge, I am reminded of a couple verses in Isaiah.

“Then I heard the Lord asking, “Whom should I send as a messenger to this people?

Who will go for us?”

I said, “Here I am. Send me.” (6:7-9, NIV)

This verse has special meaning for me as when I went to training college to become a Salvation Army Officer (pastor), this was our verse.    “Here I am, send me.”

While  these verses are powerful on it’s on.  They are really powerful when I think of the commitment and willingness to go where the Lord needs me to go.   There is no hesitation or pause to think of the consequences, but just ‘here I am’.    Do you remember when you were a child and the teacher needed a volunteer and most of the kids would raise their hand and say ‘pick me, pick me!’.

When I think of my obedience to God, it needs to like these children.   I need to answer him with a quick yes without considering what the costs may be.

But can I do that?   Yes, I can.   But will I?    I need to be more willing every moment of every day to just say Yes.

I like how Lysa says in Chapter 6 that radical obedience is born out of delight, not duty.   I love this!   I should be delighted to be radically obedient to God.  Not fearful as to what he may ask me to do.

As I think about these chapters and the previous week’s, I think that the reason that I am hesitant to say yes to God is that I am very afraid of what God will ask me to do.     I pray every day that this fear will decrease.   I know that this is the devil working on my insecurities by planting ideas into my head that I can’t do what God needs me to do.

But I need to be strong that no matter what God calls me to do he will prepare the way and equip me to do the task.   I only have to look back over the last ten years to know that God is faithful.  He has equipped me and carried me through so much that I never thought I would be able to do.

Daily I pray that God will continue to show me how I can reduce the fear that is rooted in my heart.   I pray that I will be radically obedient in all I do.   As I grow, I pray that I am an example to my son so that he will grow into a strong man of faith.

As I wrote this blog, the song by Brian Doerksen, “Faithful One

Faithful one, so unchanging
Ageless one, you’re my rock of peace
Lord of all I depend on you
I call out to you, again and again
I call out to you, again and again

You are my rock in times of trouble
You lift me up when I fall down
All through the storm
Your love is, the anchor
My hope is in You alone

God is unchanging, it is me that changes.   I pray that as I continue to listen to God’s prompting, I will be more willing to say, #YesToGod.    When God calls to me, I want to jump up and say “Here I am, God, what do you have for me today?”

Praying for courage to say #YesToGodmother teresa quote

Categories: #YesToGod study, Blogs | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “#YesToGod

  1. Awesome blog. You are already there because you are aware! And when God does call youwill remeber this blog and hav ethe courage to say “YES”. This is his building block! Palms up sista! Keep walking forward to receive the plan and life God has for you. God Bless!

  2. Thanks for sharing “Here am I send me” and “Faithful One” both are songs that speak to me . Yes in Christ alone is our hope. We are all a work in progress, one step at a time. Blessings Stephanie as you continue to serve God and minister to those He places along your path.
    Marilyn

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

