Open My Eyes, Lord

Making new habits is always difficult for me. I am attempting this year to read through the New Testament in a more prayerful and reflective way then I have every read through scripture before. The new reading plan is great. I did get behind, but have caught up.

As I read through Mark’s gospel I am surprised of the new things that God is opening my eyes to. I have read these verses many times, but I am finding that it is like the first time. So much is coming alive for me. I am reflecting on chapters 6-10 and find that it is more than stories of healing. There is so much more.

Each day as I read a chapter, I have been journaling and asking the question, ‘What is God saying to me?’

Here’s what I have heard…

In ministry there will be people who work along side of me that may never truly believe. In verse 52, “They still didn’t understand the significance of the miracle of the multiplied loaves, for their hearts were hard and they did not believe.” I am amazed that the people who walked with Jesus, witness all the miracles he performed, received personal teaching from him and yet they did not truly believe that Jesus was the Son of God, our Saviour. As I read these miracles in the past, I always wished that I was that lucky one who could have seen first hand these wonderful miracles. But this time it was different. I still think it would have been amazing to be there, but then I stop and think of all the miracles that continue to happen every day….that I do see. I was reminded to open my eyes all the time to see what The Lord is doing right now, right here. And yes, there will be some people that will walk with me in ministry that will never truly believe. But my call is to tell them, teach them and be the example for them. The rest is up to the Holy Spirit.

In chapter seven, I was made aware that Jesus told a number of people to not tell others what had happened to them, but the did anyways. Today, I think the problem is that we, as Christians, have stopped telling others. This chapter has encouraged me to keep telling the Salvation story, keep teaching those around me, and keep telling my story. I am thinking about our young people at the church, they are full of the Holy Spirit and really on fire for God. They are not afraid to witness to people around them. They have encouraged me to get out of my comfort zone and put aside my fear.

Chapter 8 encourages me to be more confident in my faith and not doubt what is possible with God. To be firm in my belief that He is Lord and anything is possible with Him. I need to lay aside my doubts and fears and just be obedient to God and his plan for my life. Chapter 9 is along the same lines. Encouraging me to continue to be faithful and believe in him. To Pray. To allow God to cleanse me and make me into the woman he wants me to be.

In chapter 10, I am challenged by God to protect my marriage, have the faith of a child and to give everything to God. Jesus is challenged by the teachers of the law on his views of divorce. I realize that this part of Scripture can be interpreted in different ways and I am not going to say that divorce is right or wrong. What I felt God saying to me is that I said vows before God with my husband, before God we became one. God joined us together and we should let no man/woman separate us. Marriages are sacred and should be protected. They take work, but when both parties are committed to God, then all things are possible. The last part of the chapter about giving my all to God has been a theme in a lot of things this past week. It is a great reminder to me to look at every part of my life and ensure that I have given it over to God.

I am reminded of a song, ‘All to Jesus I surrender, All to Jesus I freely give’ I can’t remember the rest of the words. But I am reminded that I need to freely give it all to God, not hold anything back.

My prayer this week is for me to break free of anything that is holding me back from fulfilling God’s calling on my life.

Categories: #2014#readingplan, Blogs | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

